Menu
close

OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK. BOOK ONLINE or Call: 03 9894 2463

burger icon

Alan Shields Myotherapist

Alan Detail
play video

Check out this short video to get to know Alan a little better...

Send Alan an email at
alan@boosthealth.com.au if you would like to ask him any questions about your treatment.

Why did you become a Soft Tissue Therapist?

Being a competitive runner, I have suffered different injuries over the years. When I had Compartment Syndrome, I was receiving Remedial Massage Therapy twice a week for several weeks. I got great results for my Compartment Syndrome with the Soft Tissue Therapy and was able to return to running. This really got me inspired to become a Soft Tissue Therapist myself so that I could help others overcome their injuries and get back to training. I’m glad I made this decision as there is nothing more satisfying than helping someone to function at their best and overcome their injuries.

What sort of patients do you most enjoy helping?

I enjoy treating athletes, particularly runners and football (soccer) players. I believe that regular treatments can help to reduce the chance of injury. I also like helping people with their rehab goals to improve their range of motion and get their body back to functioning at it’s full potential and then seeing them return to competition.

Interesting things you have done in your career?

I have worked with many local sporting clubs, including Mooroolbark Soccer Club and Healesville Soccer Club. I have also worked at different sporting events including the Melbourne Marathon, Run Melbourne, The Stawell Gift and The World Masters Games.

What do you do to keep fit?

I enjoy running... both training and racing (when my body let’s me) and playing football (soccer).

Greatest sporting achievement?

My greatest sporting achievements would be winning numerous national cross country championships as a junior in Scotland, winning state titles in Australia and competing for Victoria at national cross-country championships.

If you could jump on a plane and visit one city, which would it be?

An island in the Maldives

Favourite thing to do outside of work?

I’m a big fan of craft beer, so one of my favourite things to do outside of work is visit different breweries and sample new and exciting beers with my friends. I also enjoy travelling with my wife and son.

Where did you grow up?

I was born and bred in Glasgow, Scotland. I lived there until I was 15 before migrating to Melbourne.

What is your food weakness?

Any type of seafood!

Open 7days Small 1

If you would like our help to keep active and happy, give us a call on 03 9894 2463 or book online to Book an appointment.

Claimable Badge

Rebates claimable on the spot from Private Health insurance and Medicare, where applicable

Availability Badge

After hours appointments available Monday - Friday

If you would like us to help keep you active and happy, give us a call on 03 9894 2463

Accreditations
Accred Logo 1
Accred Logo 2
Accred Logo 3
Accred Logo 4
Accred Logo 5
Accred Logo 6
Accred Logo 7
Accred Logo 8
Accred Logo 9
Accred Logo 10